To Receive Help, Simply CALL 2-1-1 Click Here to Learn More


New Officers and Directors Lead United Way

With the end of summer approaching, United Way’s volunteer leaders are back in action, including new 2014-2015 Board officers and directors.

Scott Spiker is 2014-2015 Board Chair, and Brad Forsberg will head up the 2014 United Way campaign.

Scott, CEO of First Command Financial Services, was campaign chair in 2011 and has served on the United Way Strategic Planning Committee since 2009, including chairing the committee in 2009 and 2010.


Brad is the Managing Partner of the Fort Worth office for KPMG. He was United Way Treasurer and Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee from 2011 to 2014 and has served as Compliance Officer. He also has chaired the Investment Committee and served on the Compensation and Benefits Committee.

Other 2014-2015 officers are:

  • Tommy Lawler, CEO and Managing Partner, Weaver – Treasurer, Chair of Audit and Finance Committee and Compliance Officer
  • Jean Wallace, Vice President Human Resources, Lockheed Martin – Chair, Compensation and Benefits Committee
  • James Powell, Assistant Council for Transportation, North Central Texas Council of Governments – Chair, Governance Committee
  • Mark Nurdin, CEO/Fort Worth Region, Bank of Texas – Chair, Strategic Planning Committee
  • Richard Casarez, Vice President-Fort Worth Customer Operations, Oncor Electric Delivery – Chair, Diversity Committee
  • Terry Almon, Executive Vice President/Chief Operations Officer, Northstar Bank of Texas – Chair, Community Development Committee
  • Tim McKinney, President, United Way of Tarrant County
  • Beverly Boyd, Corporate Secretary, United Way of Tarrant County

New United Way Board Members:
Walter Amaya is Plant Manager for GE Transportation’s new locomotive facility in Fort Worth. Before his current assignment, he had the supply chain responsibility for the component repair facilities for GE Transportation in Grove City, Emporium, Cleveland, Albany, Kansas City, Las Vegas and the business Turbo repair facility in Hyderabad, India.


Mona Bailey retired from management at Electronic Data Systems and today is an active community volunteer. Besides co-chairing the United Way Health Council, she is in her second term of representing Tarrant County in the Texas Silver-Haired Legislature and is serving as TSHL Chair of State Affairs.


Dan Berce has been CEO of General Motors Financial Company, Inc. (formerly AmeriCredit Corp) since 2005 and President since 2003. He previously had served as CFO and in other executive positions since 1990. GM Financial is a subsidiary of General Motors Company that provides financial solutions to auto dealers and consumers in 18 countries.


Kevin Buehler recently retired from Alcon Laboratories, Inc., a division of Novartis, serving as its President from April 2011 to May 1, 2014. Prior to that time he served as the Chief Executive Officer and President of Alcon Inc., a division of Novartis, from April 1, 2009, to 2011, and as Chief Marketing Officer of Alcon Laboratories Inc., from February 2006 to April 2009.


Shannon Fletcher is Executive Administrator of Policy, Programs and Outreach to Tarrant County Commissioner Roy Brooks. Previously she was Executive Director of Generation Hope Laptop Program, a local nonprofit that provides laptops and an after-school science, technology, engineering and mathematics education to low-income students.
Susan Halsey is a partner with more than 30 years of experience in the real estate section of Jackson Walker L.L.P. in Fort Worth. She currently chairs the firm’s real estate practice group, which includes approximately 40 lawyers located in six offices, and she is the managing partner of the firm’s Fort Worth office.
Scott Hickson is a partner at EY with 13 years of experience in the assurance practice. He currently focuses on clients in the oil and gas industry. He recently returned from a three-year residency in the firm’s national accounting office in New York, where he concentrated on revenue recognition and business combinations.
Greg Lanham was named CEO of FTS International in 2012. He has more than 27 years of experience in the energy industry in both operating and investment management roles. He was nominated as the 2014 EY Entrepreneur of the Year, and the Dallas Business Journal recently named him to its list of “Who’s Who in Energy.”


Directors elected to a second 3-year term are Greg Fox, Brad Forsberg, Joe Stroop and Becky Tucker. Scott Spiker was elected to a one-year extended term.